Urban Velo

PA 4-Foot Passing Law In Effect

Posted on by in Advocacy with 2 Comments

As of April 2nd Pennsylvania joins a list of 19 states that now have a legally defined distance that must be given to cyclists when passing. While the 4-foot passing law likely will have very little if any effect on driver behavior, if the DA cares to use it when accidents or vehicular assaults do occur it is another tool to force some accountability on auto drivers.

Before now, “Pennsylvania lacked any sort of law or tool by which drivers or law enforcement officials could actually figure out how they’re supposed to operate,” said Scott Bricker, executive director of Bike Pittsburgh, a nonprofit organization that promotes cycling. The law “gives drivers a little bit more literal explanation of what they should be doing. It’s codifying what good drivers already do: slow down and wait for a time when you can pass with care.”

Read more at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

2 Comments

  1. asc.pghApril 6, 2012 at 7:17 am

    $25 fine if an officer sees the offense, pursues the driver, effects a traffic stop, asks for ID and registration, then continues to feel the need to write a citation. That’s for a moving vehicle violation that can risk the life of another legal occupant of the roadway.

    If walking my dog in my pre-coffee stupor I don’t see him poop and pick it up I qualify for a $300 fine.

    I get the message lawmakers are sending; a gutter bunny’s carcass is less offensive than an un-policed dog turd.

  2. First PA Driver Cited Under New 4 Foot Passing Law « Urban VeloApril 6, 2012 at 7:33 am

    [...] hours after the new four foot passing law took effect in PA the above “accident” happened as a juvenile driver struck a cyclist [...]

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

City Reports