Urban Velo

Knog Blinder USB Rechargeable Blinkie Review


Knog was one of the first on the scene with soft-bodied blinkie lights, and have been pushing USB rechargeable lights since the technology first came out. Their latest product is the $45 Knog Blinder, a USB rechargeable LED light featuring an anodized aluminum body, single button switch and quick release mount. The pictured Blinder 4 has four LEDs housed in an aluminum and polycarbonate body, with a silicone strap compatible with 22-35 mm bars or seatposts. Hidden under the strap is a fold out USB plug for recharging.

In use the Blinder is quite bright—Knog claims 80 Lumens of front white output and 44 Lumens from the rear red LED set. The rear is too bright to comfortably ride behind at night, a good thing as far as I’m concerned for being seen riding solo in traffic. I wouldn’t say you can see on a dark trail with the front or anything, but I may be guilty of doing some urban exploring with the Blinder as my guide though it is certainly a “be seen” type of light. The light itself is fully waterproof—I let mine blink through a complete charge submerged in a glass of water—and gets a claimed 3 hours of runtime on steady, with a claimed up to 40 hours blinking. Even for daily use, most people will find recharging it once or twice per week plenty.

The switch require a 2 second press to turn on, preventing finding it blinking in the bottom of your bag. You can click through a few different blink modes, and turn off the light my holding the button for another 2 seconds. The Blinder even remembers the blink mode you left on, a minor but mentionable nicety. The button also has a small LED indicator—red when the battery is low or charging, green when fully charged. When it comes to charging, just flip out the USB plug and insert into an open computer or charging port. I found that in some circumstances I needed a USB extension cord to easily plug the light in either due to the shape next to a laptop, or because it blocked the USB port next to it.

Color me impressed, the Blinder is my latest go-to blinkie. It’s initially pricey at $45, but add a year or two worth of batteries to a $30 light and you’re at the same final place. See the whole line of Blinder lights at www.knog.com.au

17 Comments

  1. Skid MarksMay 15, 2012 at 11:46 am

    All these silicon strap lights have one fatal flaw. The clip holding the strap is made of plastic. They could make it out of metal, but then you wouldn’t have to buy a new light then.

  2. finchiekins the owlMay 15, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    The clip on the Blinder is metal. I’ve had one for about a month now and love it. The strap feels solid enough that I feel comfortable strapping it around the spacers on my steering tube. I take it on dark trails and can see well enough that i’m able to keep a good pace without being afraid of steering into a ditch. I wouldn’t go night racing with it or anything, but it’s a nice light.

  3. AmosMay 15, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    I’ve been using this light for a couple weeks now, but last night was my first chance to use it in total darkness. I can’t believe how bright this thing is. I also love shape of it, it looks like no other light, and it’s much smaller than anything else this bright I’ve ever used.

  4. Onion1yinMay 15, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    I’ve run through four knog’s with the silicon straps at this point. Not sure why I keep going back but I’m done at this point. They do have a warranty and I suppose it’s my own fault for never saving my receipts to redeem warranty repairs. Either way at this point I’m not really into a free or paid replacement that will just break in another 60 to 90 days of normal use on bars within the capable specs. I’ve had two front Boomer rechargeables, a skink, and a rear boomer rechargeable. In the case of the rear boomer rechargeable the silicon maintained fine but the on/off button failed.

  5. BenMay 15, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Looks like a decent light. I have tried the blackburn flee and I got half the running time from what was advertised. If these blink as long as they say they should then they may be worth a look. The square design isn’t as pleasing as a more streamline one.

  6. jorgeMay 16, 2012 at 7:08 am

    I prefer using the 110 lumen, great-looking Portland Design Works Cosmic Dreadnought front light. Can’t beat its performance for the price. And you can SEE with this light.

  7. concaJune 15, 2012 at 2:20 am

    Hi guys … I can’t turn on the light at first use.
    The charging spy light red/green works … but then I can’t turn the light on (2 secs press or other kind)
    Someone can help me ?
    thx

  8. CharlesJuly 25, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    My blinder’s strap broke after 2 months. It’s the weak link and is not replaceable.

  9. Knog Blinder Barcelona Launch « Urban VeloJuly 26, 2012 at 2:53 am

    [...] recently reviewed the Knog Blinder blinkie lights, and were just given the head’s up on this video from the Barcelona launch [...]

  10. Knog Blinder 1 « Urban VeloSeptember 7, 2012 at 11:17 am

    [...] product line, joining the Blinder line of USB rechargeable blinkie lights. I reviewed the Blinder 4 a few months ago and they have fast become my go-to lights that switch between bikes and recharge [...]

  11. BrianOctober 2, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Hey-o. If anything goes wrong with your Knog product, hit us up at peeps@knog.com.au and we’ll get you taken care of pronto. Honest.

  12. Knog Blinder 4V « Urban VeloOctober 11, 2012 at 9:06 am

    [...] clunky and dim lights we were all using just a few years back. I reviewed the square format Blinder 4 a couple of months back, and have spent the summer running the pictured vertical format Blinder 4V [...]

  13. DaveOctober 16, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    My blinder strap has failed. I never thought the strap would stand the test of time. I was right. The light is great, they just need to reengineer the strap.

  14. Stating the Blinder-ingly obvious « The DYNAMITE! FilesDecember 7, 2012 at 12:08 am

    [...] reviews I’ve subsequently come across on blogs (Urban Velo, Pedal Consumption, Bike Soup and FLO Cycling) haven’t mentioned this obvious consequence of the [...]

  15. RoryFebruary 26, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    I have had the same problem with the square GT version of the blinder 4, the STRAP!!! Amazing light with great features I have never had on a light before. This is the first time I have sprung for a quality light and at £30 odd this is probably worth all of my previous lights combined in the last 5 years. However, at least these lights still work and have the original handlebar attachments, they’re just dim!!

  16. DS31May 10, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    Same problem here: the STRAP. It broke while attached to my 31.8 mm handlebars after only 10-12 uses. I can’t see how everyone using this light has not had the same problem (unless they send a weaker version to the folks in the US).. The strap is very fragile and cannot be user-replaced.

  17. Bronwyn RobertsMay 22, 2013 at 7:45 am

    I found a knog blinder on the road on an early morning ride this week. The strap was broken although the light looks fairly new and was still working when I picked it up. Sadly I don’t have the USB connection needed to recharge it. I’ll continue to use my Lezyne to light my rides.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

City Reports